What Are The Stages Of Grief After A Divorce?

For most couples, divorce is an extremely emotional time. After all, separating from the person they thought was their soulmate is never easy. Everyone reacts differently to the situation. Some cry, while some do not cry at all. It is better to be prepared for the upcoming stages of grief to fight the battle that is divorce. 

It is essential to know that there is no “skip” button to this. You cannot rush through these stages of grief, and that is okay. Let your mind and body heal naturally from what has happened without putting too much pressure on them. On that note, if you are going through a divorce, you should consider hiring a Tacoma Uncontested Divorce Lawyer.

The stages of grief after a divorce 

  • Shock and denial. 

When human being undergoes an experience that they could not even imagine, it is normal for them to go into denial. This phase usually starts a few days following the divorce announcement. It is a type of divorce coping mechanism that involves ignoring the reality of the situation to avoid distressing feelings. 

  • Bargaining. 

Bargaining refers to when a divorced person still hopes of getting back with their ex-spouse and thinks that there is a possibility of restoring their marriage. At this stage, the individual is willing to change themselves to bring back their ex. It is important to remember that trying to convince your ex to come back is usually a hopeless attempt.

  • Anger. 

As shock and denial start to wear off, you may start feeling anger towards your ex. You feel anger at them for leaving you alone and not coming back even after you said you would change for the better. This stage usually leaves the person in their worst state and can affect custody arrangements. Therefore, remember to keep your children away from your anger. 

  • Depression. 

After anger wears off, you are left with nothing but sadness. You realize that bargaining with them and getting angry has done nothing for you, and you have no options left from here. You may feel sadness that is severe and long-lasting, hopelessness, and feelings of worthlessness. Severe forms of depression can even start affecting your physical health if not taken care of. 

  • Acceptance. 

Acceptance is the final and perhaps the most rewarding stage of getting over a divorce. You finally understand why your relationship ended, and you start to accept your situation as it is instead of trying to bring a change. You make plans to make your life better, find new hobbies, and maybe even date other people to move forward in your life. 

Divorce is difficult, but you should never be forced to stay married if you are with the wrong person. Call a lawyer today to look into your situation and help you get done with the divorce process smoothly.

Posted in Law